Breyers® now offers 36 gluten free varieties

Long before Häagen-Dazs, Ben & Jerry’s, Breyers® began as a family business in Philadelphia in 1866, when William A. Breyer hand-cranked his first gallon of ice cream. It was a special ice cream consisting of rich cream, pure cane sugar, fresh fruits, nuts and other flavors – some of the very same ingredients used today. He sold it to his neighbors with the promise that his ice cream was made with the finest ingredients. Word spread quickly, and Breyers® Ice Cream was soon declared Philadelphia’s best. Today, Breyers® is owned by Unilver and is based in Englewood Cliffs, NJ.

And I thought you’d be interested in learning that Breyers® now offers 36 gluten free varieties! After going through a gluten-free validation process, these Breyers® varieties will bear a “gluten-free” claim on the side label, consistent with the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) rule on gluten-free labeling. And just in time for summer!

The gluten-free seal will begin to appear on Breyers® varieties this month and will include the following flavors:

Original:

  • Black Raspberry Chocolate
  • Butter Almond
  • Butter Pecan
  • Caramel Praline Crunch
  • Cherry Vanilla
  • Chocolate
  • Chocolate Chip
  • Coffee
  • Extra Creamy Chocolate
  • Extra Creamy Vanilla
  • French Vanilla
  • Homemade Vanilla
  • Mint Chocolate Chip
  • Natural Strawberry
  • Natural Vanilla
  • Peach
  • Vanilla Chocolate
  • Vanilla, Chocolate, Strawberry
  • Vanilla Fudge Twirl

Breyer’s Blast:

  • Banana Split
  • Creamsicle Orange

Fat Free:

  • Creamy Vanilla
  • French Chocolate
  • Strawberry

1/2 The Fat:

  • Creamy Chocolate
  • Creamy Vanilla

No Sugar Added:

  • Butter Pecan
  • Vanilla
  • Vanilla, Chocolate, Strawberry

Carbsmart:

  • Chocolate
  • Vanilla
  • Vanilla & Almond Ice Cream Bar
  • Vanilla Ice Cream Bar

Lactose Free:

  • Lactose Free Chocolate
  • Lactose Free Vanilla

The Breyers® gluten-free validation process includes verification activities mandated by the FDA including production line testing, and gluten cross-contact activities. Breyers® gluten free varieties also include two lactose free flavors: Lactose Free Vanilla and the new Lactose Free Chocolate. The recipes of these varieties will remain the same.

“As a brand known for offering frozen treat options for the entire family, we’re happy to announce that more than 35 of our popular Breyers® varieties are now labeled gluten free,” said Nick Soukas, director of ice cream for Unilever. “Now, people following a gluten-free diet can be sure that the flavors they know and love are compatible with their dietary needs.”

IMG_7870

I noticed that many of flavors say “Frozen Dairy Dessert” on the carton, rather than “Ice Cream”. I was curious why that is. Here’s the answer: Frozen dairy dessert products are made with many of the same high-quality ingredients that are commonly found in Ice Cream – like fresh milk, cream and sugar – and offer a great taste and even smoother texture. According to the FDA, in order for a product to be labeled ice cream, it needs to meet two key requirements:

  • Not less than 10% dairy fat
  • A percentage of overrun that results in a finished product weighing more than 4.5 pounds per gallon

Anything that does not meet both of those requirements is not considered ice cream, and therefore labeled “Frozen Dairy Dessert”

While Breyers® sells both Ice Cream and Frozen Dairy Desserts, the Frozen Dairy Dessert tends to have less fat than ice cream. Various textures and flavors do not adhere to the FDA’s Ice Cream labeling guidelines and are thus called Frozen Dairy Desserts. This includes the smoother flavors and Breyers® Blasts, for example.

Use Breyers® store locator to find a retail location near you that sells the gluten free flavors.

Disclaimer: I was not paid for my review and all opinions are my own.

Published by

Jessica

Jessica I've been on a gluten free diet since January 2009. It's been an adventure, and a challenge at times. I love to go to new restaurants and try new foods, and being gluten free can make eating out difficult at times. But I will not let my dietary restrictions get in my way of finding new restaurants and products. These are my stories of being a young women in a big city, eating out and trying new foods, all while NOT eating gluten. Like I said, it's an adventure and you are welcome to come along... Please note that as I try to eat gluten free 100% of the time, my intolerance is not as severe as others so please use caution when dining at restaurants that are not certified gluten free.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *